Draw for 2014 CONCACAF Women’s Championship Set

Photo credit: CONCACAF
[dropcap size=small]T[/dropcap]he draw for the 2014 CONCACAF Women’s Championship was announced on Sept. 6, 2014, with tournament host United States in Group A with Trinidad & Tobago, Guatemala, and Haiti. Group B consists of Costa Rica, Mexico, Jamaica, and Martinique. The top three teams in the tournament qualify for the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Canada. The fourth-place team will play the third-place team from South America in a one-and-one playoff series for the final spot in next year’s tournament.

Because it is not recognized as a FIFA country, Martinique cannot advance past the group stage. If Martinique finishes in the top two of its group, the third-place team in the group will move on to the semifinals.

The tournament runs from October 15-26.


Group play will be played in four U.S. cities: Kansas City, Chicago, and Washington, D.C. The semifinals, third-place match, and final will be played in Philadelphia. The round-robin format will see the top two teams from each group advance to the semifinals.

Group Stage

Sporting Park; Kansas City, Kan.
October 15 6:00 pm ET Guatemala vs. Haiti
8:30 pm ET USA vs. Trinidad
October 16 6:00 pm ET Jamaica vs. Martinique
8:30 pm ET Costa Rica vs. Mexico
Toyota Park; Bridgeview, Ill.
October 17 6:30 pm ET Haiti vs. Trinidad
9:00 pm ET USA vs. Guatemala
October 18 4:00 pm ET Costa Rica vs. Jamaica
6:30 pm ET Martinique vs. Mexico
RFK Stadium; Washington, D.C.
October 20 5:00 pm ET Trinidad vs. Guatemala
7:30 pm ET Haiti vs. USA
October 21 5:00 pm ET Martinique vs. Costa Rica
7:30 pm ET Mexico vs. Jamaica


PPL Park; Chester, Pa.
October 24 4:30 pm ET Group A Winner vs. Group B Runner-up
7:30 pm ET Group B Winner vs. Group A Runner-up

Third Place Match and Final

PPL Park; Chester, Pa.
October 26 3:00 pm ET Third-Place Match
5:00 pm ET Final

Qualifying Tournament History

The qualifying tournament has been held in 1991, 1994, 1998, 2002 (CONCACAF Women’s Gold Cup), 2006 (CONCACAF Women’s Gold Cup), and 2010.

Only two countries have won the tournament: the United States and Canada. The U.S. has won the tournament four times (1991, 1994, 2002, 2006); Canada twice (1998, 2010). In 1998, the U.S. didn’t compete because it had already qualified for the 1999 FIFA Women’s World Cup as hosts. In 2010, the U.S. finished in third place, forcing the team into a playoff with Italy for a spot at the 2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup. As hosts of the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup, Canada has secured a spot at next year’s competition and will not compete in the tournament.

The Draw

The eight countries were sorted into two groups of four teams using five pots. Pots 1 through 3 contained the countries and pots 4 and 5 determined group position. The United States was automatically seeded in position A1 as tournament hosts.

Pots for the draw:
Pot 1: USA; Mexico
Pot 2: Costa Rica; Guatemala
Pot 3: Haiti; Jamaica; Martinique; Trinidad & Tobago

How to Watch

FOX will televise all matches live on FOX Sports 1, FOX Sports 2, or FOX Soccer Plus, and mobile platforms including FOX Sports GO, Fox Soccer 2GO, and FOXSportsGO.com.