USWNT Roster for Tournament of Nations Announced; Krieger Recalled

USA's Ali Krieger.
Cynthia Hobgood

U.S. Women’s National Team (USWNT) head coach Jill Ellis has called in 23 players for the inaugural Tournament of Nations (ToN). The ToN will be held from July 27 through August 3, with stops in Seattle, San Diego, and Los Angeles.

Players will report for a three-day camp on Sunday, July 23, in Seattle.

Ali Krieger earned a return call-up after being left off the roster for the friendlies against Sweden and Norway in June.

In addition to Krieger, Ellis has selected a trio of younger players, including Margaret Purce of the Boston Breakers. Purce receives her first senior call-up after having been a member of the 2014 U.S. U-20 World Cup team.

Joining Purce in the uncapped category for this tournament are goalkeeper Abby Smith, also of the Breakers, who earns her third senior call-up, and defender Taylor Smith of the North Carolina Courage, who earns her second senior call-up.

Injuries keep midfielders Tobin Heath and Rose Lavelle, and goalkeeper Ashlyn Harris off the roster.

Notable omissions from the roster include Meghan Klingenberg and Emily Sonnett. Sonnett wasn’t selected for the friendlies against Sweden and Norway in June either.

Additional Notes

Krieger and O’Hara are on track to reach 100 caps, with Krieger at 98 caps and O’Hara at 96 caps.

The Chicago Red Stars’ Sofia Huerta will join the USWNT for the tournament but is not available for selection because she is cap-tied to Mexico (2012 U-20 World Cup and five senior caps). The U.S. Soccer Federation is applying for a change of association on Huerta’s behalf. Should FIFA grant the approval, Huerta would be eligible to play for the U.S. in the future.

U.S. Roster

Unless otherwise indicated, clubs in parentheses compete in the U.S.


  • Alyssa Naeher (Chicago Red Stars)
  • Jane Campbell (Houston Dash)
  • Abby Smith (Boston Breakers)


  • Abby Dahlkemper (North Carolina Courage)
  • Julie Ertz (Chicago Red Stars)
  • Ali Krieger (Orlando Pride)
  • Kelley O’Hara (Sky Blue FC)
  • Becky Sauerbrunn (FC Kansas City)
  • Casey Short (Chicago Red Stars)
  • Taylor Smith (North Carolina Courage)


  • Morgan Brian (Houston Dash)
  • Carli Lloyd (Houston Dash)
  • Allie Long (Portland Thorns FC)
  • Samantha Mewis (North Carolina Courage)
  • Margaret Purce (Boston Breakers)
  • Megan Rapinoe (Seattle Reign FC)



  • Crystal Dunn (Chelsea FC, England)
  • Lindsey Horan (Portland Thorns FC)
  • Sydney Leroux (FC Kansas City)
  • Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride)
  • Christen Press (Chicago Red Stars)
  • Mallory Pugh (Washington Spirit)
  • Lynn Williams (North Carolina Courage)

Australia Roster

Unless otherwise indicated, clubs in parentheses compete in Australia.


  • 1-Lydia Williams (Houston Dash, USA)
  • 18-Mackenzie Arnold (Brisbane Roar FC)


  • 3-Caitlin Cooper (Illawarra Stingrays)
  • 4-Clare Polkinghorne (Brisbane Roar FC)
  • 5-Laura Alleway (Unattached)
  • 7-Steph Catley (Orlando Pride, USA)
  • 14-Alanna Kennedy (Orlando Pride, USA)
  • 21-Ellie Carpenter (Western Sydney Wanderers FC)


  • 2-Gema Simon (Avaldsnes, Norway)
  • 6-Chloe Logarzo (Avaldsnes, Norway)
  • 8-Elise Kellond-Knight (1. FFC Turbine Potsdam, Germany)
  • 9-Caitlin Foord (Mynavi Vegalta Sendai Ladies, Japan)
  • 10-Emily van Egmond (VfL Wolfsburg, Germany)
  • 13-Tameka Butt (Klepp I-L, Norway)
  • 19-Katrina Gorry (Mynavi Vegalta Sendai Ladies, Japan)
  • 22-Alex Chidiac (Adelaide City)


  • 11-Lisa De Vanna (South Melbourne)
  • 15-Emily Gielnik (Avaldsnes, Norway)
  • 16-Hayley Raso (Portland Thorns FC, USA)
  • 17-Princess Ibini (Football NSW NTC)
  • 20-Sam Kerr (Sky Blue FC, USA)

Brazil Roster

Unless otherwise indicated, clubs in parentheses compete in Brazil.


  • Barbara (Kindermann)
  • Dani Neuhaus (Santos FC)


  • Andreia Rosa (Avaldsnes Idrettslag, Norway)
  • Bruna Benites (Houston Dash, USA)
  • Mônica (Orlando Pride, USA)
  • Jucinara (Corinthians / Audax)
  • Letícia (SC Sand, Germany)
  • Maurine (Santos FC)
  • Tamires (Fortuna Hjørring, Denmark)


  • Andressinha (Houston Dash, USA)
  • Fran (Avaldsnes Idrettslag, Norway)
  • Djenifer (Iranduba)
  • Maria (Santos FC)
  • Gabi Nunes (Corinthians / Audax)
  • Camila (Orlando Pride, USA)
  • Debinha (North Carolina Courage, USA)


  • Bia Zaneratto (Incheon Hyundai Steel Red Angels, South Korea)
  • Chu (São José EC)
  • Ludmila (São José EC)
  • Marta (Orlando Pride, USA)

Japan Roster

Unless otherwise indicated, clubs in parentheses compete in Japan.


  • 21-Saitoh Ayaka (Mynavi Vegalta Sendai Ladies)
  • 1-Ikeda Sakiko (Urawa Red Diamonds Ladies)
  • 18-Yamashita Ayaka (Nippon TV Beleza)


  • 3-Sameshima Aya (INAC Kobe Leonessa)
  • 4-Manya Miho (Mynavi Vegalta Sendai Ladies)
  • 8-Sakamoto Riho (AC Nagano Parceiro Ladies)
  • 2-Takagi Hikari (Nojima Stella Kanagawa Sagamihara)
  • 20-Oya Ayumi (Ehime FC Ladies)
  • 19-Kitagawa Hikaru (Urawa Red Diamonds Ladies)
  • 23-Ichise Nana (Mynavi Vegalta Sendai Ladiers)


  • 10-Sakaguchi Mizuho (Nippon TV Beleza)
  • 5-Haji Madoka (IGA Football Club Kunoichi)
  • 6-Utsugi Rumi (Seattle Reign FC, USA)
  • 7-Nakajima Emi (INAC Kobe Leonessa)
  • 12-Naomoto Hikaru (Urawa Red Diamonds Ladies)
  • 14-Nakasato Yu (Nippon TV Beleza)
  • 16-Sumida Rin (Nippon TV Beleza)
  • 17-Hasegawa Yui (Nippon TV Beleza)


  • 22-Tomari Shiho (AC Nagano Parceiro Ladies)
  • 13-Sugasawa Yuika (Urawa Red Diamonds Ladies)
  • 9-Yokoyama Kumi (1. FFC Frankfurt, Germany)
  • 11-Tanaka Mina (Nippon TV Beleza)
  • 15-Momiki Yuka (Nippon TV Beleza)

Tournament Schedule

The tournament is round-robin, with each team playing one another once. The winner will be determined by the total number of points. Tie-breakers in the following order determine the winner should a tie on total points occur: overall goal differential, most goals scored, head-to-head results, FIFA ranking.

For U.S. viewers, the non-U.S. games will be streamed on ESPN3.


2017 Tournament of Nations

CenturyLink Field in Seattle, Washington
July 27 4:15 pm Brazil vs. Japan Stream: ESPN3
7 pm USA vs. Australia TV: ESPN
Qualcomm Stadium in San Diego, California
July 30 2:15 pm Japan vs. Australia Stream: ESPN3
5 pm USA vs. Brazil TV: ESPN2
StubHub Center in Los Angeles, California
August 3 4:15 pm Australia vs. Brazil Stream: ESPN3
7 pm USA vs. Japan TV: ESPN2