Caribbean Football Union logo
Caribbean Footbal Union

First Women’s Caribbean Cup Begins in May

[dropcap size=small]T[/dropcap]he first Women’s Caribbean Cup will begin in May with 20 teams competing. Games will be played in Antigua, the Dominican Republic, Turks and Caicos Islands, Haiti and Puerto Rico. The final round will take place in Trinidad & Tobago, who automatically advance to the final round as host.

The top three teams from the Cup will advance to the 2014 CONCACAF Women’s Championship, which serves as CONCACAF’s qualifying event for the 2015 Women’s World Cup. The final round consists of each group winner, plus the two top second-place teams overall from Groups 1, 2, 4 and 5.

The 2014 CONCACAF Women’s Championship will be held October 16-26 in Cancun and Playa del Carmen, Mexico.

The Caribbean Football Union — the Caribbean region’s governing body of soccer — contains 31 members, of which 20 have registered for the tournament. This is a marked improvement to the three Caribbean countries that participated in qualifying for the 2011 Women’s World Cup: Guyana, Haiti and Trinidad & Tobago.

Groups and Schedule

May 21-28

Group 1
Antigua and Barbuda (host)
St. Vincent & The Grenadines
US Virgin Islands

Group 2
Puerto Rico (host)

Group 3
Turks and Caicos Islands (host)
Cayman Islands
St. Kitts and Nevis

May 28-June 4

Group 4
Haiti (host)

June 16-23

Group 5
Dominican Republic (hosted)
St. Lucia

August 17-27

Final round in Port of Spain, Trinidad & Tobago

Trinidad & Tobago (host) vs. Winner of Group 3
Winner of Group 1 vs. Winner of Group 4
Winner of Group 2 vs. Winner of Group 5
#1 2nd Place from Groups 1,2,4,5 vs. #2 2nd Place from Groups 1,2,4,5