WPSL’s Sunshine Conference adds two teams

Women’s Premier Soccer League (WPSL) announced Wednesday afternoon that two new teams will join the Sunshine Conference. Jacksonville and Tampa Bay enter the now seven-team conference. The Sunshine Conference is also comprised of FSA Freedom (last year’s conference champions), Brandon F.C, the Miami Kickers F.C., Palm Beach United, and the South Florida Strikers.

“Our growth in the state of Florida has been unprecedented over the past three years,” WPSL Commissioner Jerry Zanelli said in a statement. “With seven high-level women’s soccer teams now based out of the Sunshine State, the future truly looks bright for our sport in the region.”

More than 60 teams make up the WPSL, which is the largest women’s soccer league in the world. The league is sanctioned by the United States Adult Soccer Association as an affiliate of the United States Soccer Federation.