Euro 2017: Denmark, Italy, Austria, Russia Clinch Spots; Romania and Portugal in Playoff for Final Spot

UEFA Euro 2017 logo

Qualifying for the UEFA Euro 2017 championship concluded on Tuesday with Austria, Denmark, Italy, and Russia securing places in the finals to be held in the Netherlands from July 16, 2017, to August 6, 2017. Romania and Portugal will square off in October in a home-and-away playoff series for the last spot in the championship tournament.

This edition of the European championship finals has expanded from 12 to 16 teams.

Qualifying Results

The eight group winners plus the six top runners-up from each group qualified, along with host the Netherlands.

The group winners are Iceland (Group 1), Spain (Group 2), France (Group 3), Sweden (Group 4), Germany (Group 5, current holders), Switzerland (Group 6), England (Group 7), and Norway (Group 8).

The top six second-place teams are Scotland (Group 1), Denmark (Group 4), Italy (Group 6), Belgium (Group 7), Austria (Group 8), and Russia (Group 5).

Belgium, Scotland, and Switzerland are making their debuts in the tournament finals. Germany currently holds the title and has dominated the tournament, winning eight of the nine competitions held, including the last six straight titles (1995, 1997, 2001, 2005, 2009, 2013).

The draw for the 16-team final tournament will be on November 8, 2016, in Rotterdam and streamed live on