2015 us soccer nominees for player of the year

U.S. Soccer Announces 2015 Female Player of the Year Nominees

Midfielders Lauren Holiday, Megan Rapinoe, Carli Lloyd, defender Becky Sauerbrunn, and goalkeeper Hope Solo are the nominees for 2015 U.S. Soccer Female Player of the Year. The winner will be announced during the pregame show of the match between the USA and China PR on Wednesday, December 1.

Lloyd won the Golden Ball at the 2015 FIFA World Cup and scored a hat trick in the final, guiding the U.S. to its third Women’s World Cup in a 5-2 win over Japan. Solo won the Golden Glove award as the tournament’s top goalkeeper.

Holiday won the award in 2014, Solo in 2009, and Lloyd in 2008. The inaugural award was won by Sharon Remer (McMurty) in 1985.

The award is voted on by national team coaches and staff, women’s national team members with one cap in 2015, members of the U.S. Soccer Board of Directors, U.S. Soccer’s Athlete Council, National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) coaches, select college head coaches, and select media members.