Sights: The Last DFB-Hallenpokal der Frauen

After 21 years, the DFB-Hallenpokal tournament, Germany’s national indoor competition, has come to an end. Each winter, Bundesliga teams competed in an intense yet fun, one-day indoor tournament that served as an opener of sorts to the new soccer year after the league’s Winterpause.

On January 17, 2015, Bayer 04 Leverkusen defeated VfL Wolfsburg, 1-0, to take home the last DFB-Hallenpokal title in front of a sold-out crowd of 4,634 at GETEC Arena in Magdeburg. The tournament winner received 5,000 euros, the runner-up received 3,000 euros, and the losing semifinalists received 1,500 euros each.

Throughout its history, the tournament was dominated by two teams, 1. FFC Frankfurt and 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam. Each won the competition seven times while FCR Duisburg took the title home twice.

FIFA is requiring associations to align official indoor competitions with its futsal competition rules beginning in 2016. Rather than convert the DFB-Hallenpokal to a futsal competition, the teams in the Bundesliga have elected to discontinue the staging of the unique tournament, long a fan and player favorite. To align with futsal rules would have required changing every aspect of the competition — field size, ball size, goal size, and game rules — making it a different sport.

Caroline Charruyer was there to capture all of the action from the fast-paced tournament.


[divider]About the Photojournalist[/divider]

Photojournalist Caroline Charruyer was there to capture images from the match as well as postgame reaction. (Click on images to enlarge.)