2014 Women's Copa America Logo

2014 Copa América Femenina Tournament Begins

The 2014 Copa América Femenina tournament begins today in Ecuador and runs through September 28. The competition serves as CONMEBOL’s (South American Football Confederation’s) qualifying tournament for the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup. The top two teams automatically qualify for next year’s World Cup. The third-place finisher will play the fourth-place team from the 2014 CONCACAF Women’s Championship for a spot at next year’s World Cup.

Additionally, the first-place team automatically qualifies for the 2016 Summer Olympics in Rio de Janeiro. If Brazil finishes first, the second-place team will then take the qualifying spot since Brazil automatically qualifies as the host country.

Group A features Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, Uruguay, and Venezuela. Group B consists of Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, and Paraguay.

Brazil has won the tournament five out of the six times it’s been held (1991, 1995, 1998, 2003, 2010). Argentina won in 2006.


In the first round, each team will play round-robin within its group. The top two teams from each group advance to the second round. In the second round, teams will play round-robin with the top two automatically qualifying for the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup. The third-place team will advance to a playoff against CONCACAF’s fourth-place finisher for a spot at next year’s World Cup.

First Round

Group A
September 11 Uruguay vs. Venezuela
Ecuador vs. Peru
September 13 Colombia vs. Uruguay
Ecuador vs. Venezuela
September 15 Colombia vs. Venezuela
Uruguay vs. Peru
September 17 Venezuela vs. Peru
Ecuador vs. Colombia
September 19 Colombia vs. Peru
Ecuador vs. Uruguay
Group B
September 12 Argentina vs. Chile
Brazil vs. Bolivia
September 14 Bolivia vs. Argentina
Paraguay vs. Brazil
September 16 Chile vs. Bolivia
Argentina vs. Paraguay
September 18 Bolivia vs. Paraguay
Chile vs. Brazil
September 20 Paraguay vs. Chile
Brazil vs. Argentina

Second Round

September 24 Group A #1 vs. Group B #2
Group B #1 vs. Group A #2
September 26 Group A #1 vs. Group A #2
Group B #1 vs. Group B #2
September 28 Group B #2 vs. Group A #2
Group A #1 vs. Group B #1