Sundhage calls 29 players into training camp

The U.S. Women’s National Team will head into a training camp from April 18-May 6 in West Palm Beach, Florida. U.S. Head Coach Pia Sundhage named 29 players to her training camp roster, including three in collegians – Sydney Leroux (UCLA), Kristie Mewis (Boston College), and Christine Nairn (Penn State). Leroux and Mewis will attend only the first week of camp from April 18-22 while Nairn will train only in the second week from April 25-29. The roster includes 25 players from Women’s Professional Soccer (WPS).

The players will train Monday through Friday of each week with the WPS players traveling to the sites of their club’s matches on the days before the games, and then returning to national team camp the day after. This roster features all 23 players who traveled to the United Kingdom for the USA’s 15-day training camp and match against England.

The USWNT will play two domestic matches in May to prepare for the 2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup. The U.S. women take on Japan on May 14 at Columbus Crew Stadium in Columbus, Ohio, and on May 18 at WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary, N.C.

U.S. Women’s National Team roster

Goalkeepers: Nicole Barnhart (Philadelphia Independence), Ashlyn Harris (Western New York Flash), Jill Loyden (magicJack), Hope Solo (magicJack)

Defenders : Rachel Buehler (Boston Breakers), Stephanie Cox (Boston Breakers), Whitney Engen (Western New York Flash), Ali Krieger (out of contract), Amy LePeilbet (Boston Breakers), Heather Mitts (Atlanta Beat), Christie Rampone (magicJack), Becky Sauerbrunn (magicJack)

Midfielders: Yael Averbuch (Western New York Flash), Shannon Boxx (magicJack), Tobin Heath (Sky Blue FC), Meghan Klingenberg (magicJack), Lori Lindsey (Philadelphia Independence), Carli Lloyd (Atlanta Beat), Kristie Mewis (Boston College), Christine Nairn (Penn State), Kelley O’Hara (Boston Breakers), Heather O’Reilly (Sky Blue FC), Megan Rapinoe (Philadelphia Independence), Lindsay Tarpley (magicJack)

Forwards: Lauren Cheney (Boston Breakers), Sydney Leroux (UCLA), Alex Morgan (Western New York Flash), Amy Rodriguez (Philadelphia Independence), Abby Wambach (magicJack)